Diego Velazquez, Son of Spain

The blog I wrote for this week has been side-lined to a later date – It dawned on me, having introduced myself and what I am about in last week’s post, sharing with you, my first historical novel Son of Spain vol 1 & 2, that I should write a synopsis across the two volumes.

I had a blast researching the historical background, the life of the artist and critiquing many of his paintings through the religious polarisation of Europe during the seventeenth century. Once all the information was gathered, I then correlated it together, seasoning it with a good dash of spicy fiction extracted from my over imaginative mind and sat down to type the first draft.

So here is a taster should you fancy reading and learn about the exciting life of Diego Velázquez and his wonderful canvases: –

Son of Spain Volume One and Two

A weave of conspiracy and deception pursues Diego Velazquez, court painter to the seventeenth-century Spanish King Phelipe IV. Diego’s unverified nobility and course Baroque style are used in an endeavour to bring him down. Strengthened by his friendship with Luis Gongora and fellow artist Sir Peter Paul Rubens, Diego picks up his brush, making the canvas his sword, but without intervention from a secret society, he is set to stand before the Spanish Inquisition alone. Accusations centre on a commission done in Diego’s youth. Who is the woman in the painting? Why could this canvas seal Diego’s doom?

Against a backdrop of rich European history, artists and nobles come alive once again to tell their stories as never before. Son of Spain is a passionate story of love, intrigue, slander, manipulation, and betrayal where the righteous find liberation on the world’s most famous canvases.

As soon as my life settles into a less frantic season, I am planning on publishing Son of Spain on kindle in episode form. When my manuscript went to the publisher it was severely edited cutting out sub-plots and historical amplifications. Having read Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follet, which I really enjoyed (except for the sexual paragraphs, clearly written by a man) I found I loved a long slow methodical read that created rich pictures in my mind. I equally found writing an all immersing novel, indulging in an era long gone suited me well.

Problem! It seems such liberties can only be afforded the famous writers, leaving the Such-As-I harshly edited.

It pains me to see potentially a third volume languishing in my docs on my laptop.

I know, I know what you are saying “Antoinette, this is the world of publishing, get with it or go home!’

I say to you, with respect, ‘I love writing and I am not in it for the money, it’s my art form.’

Of course I would be lying to say that I don’t want to make money. I’d love an income from writing. Who doesn’t want to earn money from their own efforts! But the bottom line for me, is I’ll write regardless!

I have to say, regarding my novel, Son of Spain, the editors at Tate did a great job, but I have a cunning plan…Rewrite, re-title, republish…the end result – fully carried away to the wonderful world of the seventeenth century Spain of Diego Velazquez and his to-die-for works.

Quick, get me a cup of tea, I want to start reading now…who’s making dinner tonight? Not me!

son-of-spain-vol1-cover42son-of-spain-vol-2

Leave a Reply

